DE-Pressing

I stopped at the supermarket today — the 2nd day of the new year, hoping to buy some tasty AND healthy items.  Personally, I find those things to be contradictory, but, New Year – New Me is my motto, so I’m trying.  I’m also trying to incorporate more exercise into my day.  One day, I purposefully walked up and down the stairs several times in a row for exercise.  One day I walked to a neighbor’s (about a quarter mile away) and they were astounded when I refused a ride home.  I told them it was my daily exercise.  And besides, it was downhill all the way.  Like a snowball rolling down a mountainside, I got home in record time.

I also read somewhere that walking around the entire supermarket is a good walking workout.  So, that’s what I did today.  I walked up and down all the aisles as fast as the other shoppers would allow.  As I did so, I checked items off my list.  In the pasta aisle, I nodded and said, “No pasta.”  In the frozen food aisle I told myself, “No ice cream.”  In the wine aisle, I cried…”No chardonnay” (this is a medical thing, not a healthy lifestyle  thing).  It was a depressing walk.

I bought cottage cheese, one russet potato, and club soda.  More depressing.

I’m going to miss my chips, my cookies and my frozen pizza.

But if it works, I suppose it will be worth it.  Stay tuned for updates as they occur.

Now where did I leave my carrot sticks?

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment