Celebrate! Celebrate! Dance to the Music!

calendar clip artA few years ago, I found a fun website that tells you what food holiday it is every day of the year!  That’s right…. every single day, all 365 of them, is a day to celebrate some kind of food or drink.  Also, which foods sponsor a month, such as National Sandwich Month (August).

For a while, I’ve been posting on my Facebook page every day just what food my friends, relatives and acquaintances should be celebrating that day.  Day after day, week after aprilweek, month after month, I diligently reported to them to celebrate.  I mean, what if you missed National Chocolate Pudding Day? (June 26) Or what if it was National Oreo Day (March 6) and you accidentally bought Chips Ahoy!?  Maybe you want to be prepared for National Blueberry Pie Day, pictured here.  Did you know that March 24th is National Cocktail Day?  I’m sure you need to know that.  Mark it on your calendar now.  Go ahead… I’ll wait.

watermelonSome days are easy to ‘get’ and some are unfathomable as to their placement on the calendar.  Eat a Cranberry Day falls suspiciously near Thanksgiving.  December 25th is National Pumpkin Pie Day.  The entire month of December is National Egg Nog Month. Likewise, National Watermelon Day falls on August 3rd. It makes sense that National Grilling Month and National Hot Dog Month are both in July.

But why is it that September 30th is National Hot Mulled Cider Day?  Why isn’t this closer to Thanksgiving… or Christmas?  Or sometime in the chill of January or February?  Why is National Gingerbread Day in June? (the 5th) Why isn’t National Croissant Day on July 14th?  (It’s January 30th)  I’m sure we’ll never get to the bottom of these issues.  And maybe we shouldn’t.  Maybe there were just too many days to celebrate.  Some days have multiple entries.  February is a short month, and many of it’s days have multiple chia3celebrations to choose from.  In my opinion, most of them don’t ‘go together’ so I’d choose one or another, but not both.  And I’ll warn my dear Facebookians about that.  March 23rd is National Chia Day (I don’t think they mean the pets), National Chip and Dip Day (isn’t every day?) and National Melba Toast Day (my apologies to my friend Melanie Trost, who used to get mail addresses to Melba Toast…not from me!)

Some celebrations give you bare bones to work with. The rest is up to your imagination.  Such as Make Up Your Own Holiday Day (March 26), National Picnic Day (April 23rd — and why isn’t this in June or July?), and Eat What you Want Day (May 11th), or National Cupcake Day (December 15).   These days give you more leeway in what you celebrate.  As opposed to National Chocolate Cupcake Day (October 18), National Vanilla Cupcake Day (November 10) which are much more specific in the flavor du jour.

Some of my favorites are dedicated to the pursuit of the buzz.  And by that, I mean alcohol. (But you knew that, didn’t you?) 🙂  Appropriately on January 1st — the very first thing we should take the time to celebrate every year is Bloody Mary Day.  She’s not ‘national’ or ‘international’, or ‘world’… but I suspect she is!  On February 18th, celebrate Drink Wine Day!  Like the aforementioned National Cupcake Day, this one doesn’t specify the flavor of the wine consumed, so feel free to knock yourself out (figuratively!)  If you’re attending a wine tasting that day, you’re in the right place at the right time!  March is chock full of alcohol-celebration days, but I’ll just mention Bock Beer Day on March 20th.  April 24th is National Sauvignon Blanc Day.   In May you’d expect to find National Mint Julep Day at the beginning of the month… you know, to coincide with Kentucky Derby Day… but no… it’s on May 30th.  James Bond might approve of National Dry Martini Day on June 19th…. I know Hawkeye Pierce would!  July 19th is National Daquiri Day!  Make mine frozen!  If you’re celebrating National Prosecco Day on August 19th, CALL ME!  After a few glasses I’ll tell you anything you want to know… maybe even what my websource for all this information is!

harveywallbanger

Harvey Wallbanger

(mwahahahah!)  The whole month of September is dedicated to California Wine Month.  I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate, am I right teachers?  🙂  October brings apples, pumpkins and National Vodka Day (Oct. 4) which is one I look forward to all year round!  On November 8th we remember National Harvey Wallbanger Day.  My source claims that Harvey was a bummed out surfer dude who missed riding a gnarly wave and drank till he banged into a few walls.  Whatever.  I don’t suggest you follow his lead. December 31st is National Champagne Day, which, if celebrated in the manner of Harvey Wallbanger, leads you right back to Bloody Mary Day the next day!

blt.jpg

April is National BLT Sandwich Month

Some foods get a month in addition to a day.  Peanut Butter, Pasta, Potatoes, Rice, Peaches, Ice Cream, Candy, Seafood, Papaya, Hamburgers, Strawberries, Eggs, Salad, Salsa, BLT Sandwiches, Grilled Cheese, Celery, Noodles, Chocolate, Cherries, Oatmeal and Soup all get celebrated for an entire month.  There are others, I just picked out an eclectic few.

Some foods (or drinks) need more than a day, but not as much as a month.  You guessed it… these days get a week of celebration.  What foods would thus qualify?

In April, celebrate National Egg Salad Week the 2nd week of the month.  I assume this is to use up your colored Easter eggs.  The fourth week of September is National Wild Rice Week.  I guess this is in connection with September being National Rice Month, but someone wanted to single out the wild variety over Uncle Ben’s.  From the “don’t ask too many questions file”, the first week in February is National Shape Up With Pickles Week

Some days fall on a specific calendar location, regardless of the day, or in some cases, the month.  The 3rd Thursday of June is World Tapas Day.  National Hot pancakesCross Bun Day is Good Friday … whenever that falls in the particular year you’re in.  Also, Easter Sunday itself is National Baked Ham with Pineapple Day (please tell me there’s a National Baked Ham (sans pineapple) day too?)   National Pork Rind Appreciation Day is Super Bowl Sunday.  Go figure.  I’da thought that would have been Kegger Day or Dip Day or Please Spray after you “go” Day…  Pancake Week is the fourth week of February.  There’s a week I can get behind!

The bottom line is… EVERY DAY’S A HOLIDAY…. find yours and celebrate it like there’s no tomorrow!

 

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrate! Celebrate! Dance to the Music!

  1. kmsoverton says:

    One of your best!

    • Thanks Kathy. I’m ALWAYS game to celebrate and since there’s always something TO celebrate, I figure I’m pretty much covered any day someone wants to party with me! I’ll find National Bacon Day and give you a call!

Leave a Reply

