I Feel Like Dancing….

Dancing… Dance the night away!  I feel like dancing!

My job hunting is over.  I got a full time job last week, just 5 days after my birthday.  A REAL cause for celebration!

Four and a half years is a long time to sit and wait and wonder.  Will I ever get a full time job?  Will I be able to keep my house?  My car?  Will I ever be able to take another vacation?

Here’s my advice to those who are in the same boat.  Be patient.  Be persistent.  Do what you need to do.  Cut back.  Pray.  Keep a positive outlook.

I’m hoping I did all those things well.  When it seemed like I would NEVER (and I mean NEVER) get an interview, I kept plugging away.  I searched the dozens of job sites, company sites, and emailed links to find the right job.  Not just “any” job, but one I thought I’d actually like.  At this stage, I didn’t want to be stuck in a job I’d hate going to every day.  When you’re 20-something, you can endure that for a while because there’s always time.  When you’re 60-something… not so much.  I just kept looking and applying for, the job I thought I’d enjoy.

There were certain companies I would look at repeatedly.  One of my aims was to find something relatively close to home.  I didn’t, but it was one of my goals.  I knew of several companies — including some school systems — that were within the desired driving range and kept plugging away at them looking for openings that appealed to me.  The job I got was with one of my desired companies, but NOT as close as I’d have liked.  Still and all, I believe it’s a good job and will not complain (for a few years anyway) about the drive!

About 2 years in, I thought I’d take a SECOND part-time job.  It’ll only be temporary I told myself, 2 1/2 years ago.  I never signed up for direct deposit, thinking as soon as I did, I’d get something full time and leave. It didn’t pay much (starting pay is minimum wage) but it was helping me buy groceries and gas for the car.  I did what I needed to do under the circumstances.  Sometimes, you have to take something that’ll help you ‘get by’.  Last week I told Job2 “bye bye!”

In these 4 years, the nature of things like Netflix, Smartphones and even my computer, have changed dramatically.  I miss Netflix, but it was one of the first things I dropped because, who needs to pay for entertainment when you’re not home to enjoy it?  I finally broke down and bought a reconditioned OLDer model iPhone for just 99 cents.  The data plan has been killing me, but I can’t imagine not having it now.  It’s one of the two “cut backs” I could have made and didn’t.  (The other was my cable TV.)  My poor, old computer is dying (you may recall me mentioning this once or twice before..) but I’ve been able to keep using it — more sporadically than I’d like to.  I used to hang at the computer all the time. Now I only seem to visit it when I REALLY NEED TO use it.  A new one is on my list, but I want to find what I really want.  Maybe now I’ll be able to, but cutting back meant making a list of priorities and replacing a “dying” computer was not a necessity (not like food and electricity anyway).  Maybe I should have called “cutting back” prioritizing.    Knowing the difference between NEEDS and WANTS makes a difference when the choices become food or faster internet.

PRAY.  Now not only did I do my own praying but Lawdy Miss Clawdy, I had a whole slew of people out there praying for me.  People who knew I was worth hiring.  People who knew I didn’t have another source of income.  People who loved me enough to add me to their prayer list.  To them I say THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for all the times you remembered me.

And finally, even when things were looking as dismal as I thought they ever would, I tried to keep a stiff upper lip… keep my chin up… keep a smile on my face.  I tried not to let others know how scared I was of possibly losing my car and my house. Sure, there were nights I cried when I wondered how I would pay my bills next month and which service would be shut off first?  (Gas?  Water?  Electric?) I desperately tried to keep this to myself and be positive when I was with others.  I think not being a “Sad Sack” was crucial to the way others perceived my situation.  Like the old song says, “Let a Smile Be Your Umbrella on a Rainy Afternoon“….

So, there ya go.  I’m starting a new job the first week of November, and I’m very excited about doing new things.  Let’s see if it makes me any more prolific! 😉

❤ you all!

 

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Feel Like Dancing….

  1. Ed Moran says:

    GOOD FOR YOU! CONGRATULATIONS CAROL…

  2. beth wurm says:

    Carol, you did everything possible and with prayer in your heart. Here’s hoping this new position will be everything you hoped for, that your finances improve, and the song you now sing will be “Pennies from Heaven”! Much love to you and your bright new future!

Leave a Reply

