Oh Say Can You See??

The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epocha in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forevermore.fireworks1

Some may quote Lincoln, or Roosevelt or some songwriter, but this is my favorite quote for the Fourth of July.  It is attributed to John Adams.  I especially like the prediction of fireworks — that’s my favorite part of the 4th!

I am a sucker for fireworks.  I even accept the noise that goes with it in order to enjoy the beautifully illuminated night sky.  At the shore, several of the towns up and down the beach would hold firework displays for the 4th.  We’d go into town, after a day of cookout-ing and listening to the garvey races (dreadfully noisy), and try to find parking at the lake.  The lake is now dead, and swimming is no longer permitted, but in the old days the lake was the center of festivities in town and culminated in fireworks over Lake Pohatcong.  Nowadays, you just “go down the bulkhead” and watch the displays from Beach Haven and Atlantic City.

fireworks2Before I left NY, I lived about 1/2 mile from the local minor league ballpark.  They would frequently hold fireworks displays during the summer and especially on the 4th.  I lived on top of a hill and on the top floor of the apartment complex in.  On the 4th, I’d wait till dark, grab a glass of chardonnay, one of the barstools from the kitchen, and sit on my balcony and enjoy the show in the sky.  From the ooo’s and aaaah’s I’d say my neighbors were all doing the same.  Fortunately, we were close enough to see the display, but far enough not to be bothered by the noise!  The best of both worlds.

Then there was the year I went to Colorado for Fireworks.  Well, actually I went to visit Sue & Rick, but fireworks were there too.  It was a splendid time!

Here in my newly adopted state, they sell fireworks in the parking lot at Walmart.   Not that I’d buy them.. I’m a chicken… but my neighbors, braver than I am, treat me to a free display now and then.

However, most of my firework watching is now done remotely — via television.  It’s not the same, but it’s better than nothing. 

fireworks3

HAPPY (and safe!) INDEPENDENCE DAY TO YOU ALL!

 

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

