Audiobooks

It’s not that I’m too lazy to read, but since I stopped listening to the radio during my booksoncddaily commute, I had to find something to fill the 40+ minutes of silence.  I discovered books on tape/CD at the library.  I’ve heard a good many books, including one of my favorites — an autobiography of John Glenn (yes, the astronaut) read by… John Glenn.  Except for a few sections where he discussed jet propulsion in depth (well, aeronautics) and I was bored, it was a great listen.  I would probably never have read this in book form and I recommend it every chance I get.  I listened to this one year on my drive from GA to NJ.  (or the way home… I forget which)

Despite my non-candid dislike of CATS (and all think catly) I accidentally discovered “The Cats Who…” series.  Most are available on CD, but a few can be downloaded (from the library, thus free) right to your iPod or iPhone or other MP3able device.  I’m attempting to listen to the whole 27 book series in chronological order in one uninterrupted swoop.  I’ve yet to do it, though I’ve tried twice.  It gets to be Christmas or something and I stop listening… (what?  give up Christmas music for a story about a mystic cat?  no way!)  I’m about to begin again.  It’s ok… the books are good and I LOVE the reader, George Guidell.  He “does” voices.  He does male voices, kid voices, lady voices.  Voices of timid people, and the Scots brogue of the police chief.  Really splendid.  I could listen to him forever.  (By the way, one of my goals is to have James MacIntosh Qwilleran’s life.)

I HOPE YOU’RE SITTING DOWN TO READ THIS PARAGRAPH:  I also listened to Gone With The Wind on CD because I’ve never read the book or seen the movie.  There.  I’ve said it.  I was never really interested in seeing it.  Having heard the story, I still don’t have any desire to see the movie.  Scarlett is very selfish and self-centered and to borrow a phrase, I don’t cotton to that kind of person.  The first “box” of CDs contained 14 or 15 and I thought I’d NEVER get through them.  Imagine my dismay to get to the last one and … it didn’t seem over yet.  I had ANOTHER set of CDs to go… there were 27 in all.  And now that my daily commute is 8 minutes, I wasn’t hearing much during each drive.  It took FOR-EVER to finish, but I did.  That checked off my list of things to do, I moved on.

I’ve also heard EAT, PRAY, LOVE on CD (or audio book?)  Usually, the book is better than the movie, right?  I’m not planning to see this movie either.  Except for the scenery, I don’t think I’d like it.

I really enjoy biographies / autobiographies and I’ve heard William Shatner’s shatnerautobiography, read by Captain Kirk himself.  I thought it was funny that every few chapters he’d throw in an advertisement for william shatner dot com and tell you what wonderful items were available there for purchase so you too can have a little shatner in your life.  It was funny.  The book was pretty good too.

The saddest one I’ve heard so far is Sandra Lee’s autobiography.  To look at her, you think, “beautiful California blonde — what a lucky girl” — but her early life was far from happy and she learned her “budget cooking” out of necessity to help with her younger siblings.  She also invented some curtain thing that was “as seen on TV” at the beginning of the infomercial era.  Another good read.

I’m always wondering, “what’s new on audio” that I can download?  When I’m at the library, I always stop by the “on CD” rack to see if anything jumps out at me begging to be listened to.    So, there ya have it.  AUDIOBOOKS are tops if you have empty airspace to fill with sound.  Hit up your local library online and check them out!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Audiobooks

  1. Christine Heusinger says:

    My all time favorite audio book was “Flowers for Algernon”. I don’t remember if it was read by the author or not but the reader was able to change his voice as the main character was changing. It was a brilliant but depressing book.

    My second fav audio book was “Angela’s Ashes” read by the author, Frank McCourt. With his lovely and beautiful Irish lilt, McCourt regaled the story with lullabies that would have been completely lost in anything but an audio rendition.

Leave a Reply

