Top 10 Reasons I Love Facebook – #1

Reason #1 – FAMILY

That’s right.  I saved family for last.  Facebook has allowed me to connect with my cousins who grew up in Florida, while the rest of us were in NY.  Facebook has allowed me to keep up with my 2 darling (snicker) nieces and their kids.  Facebook has brought cousins who fall into the middle of that range to my computer every day.  Well, almost every day.

I grew up downstairs from my maternal cousins.  All 3 of them.  Two of them are on Facebook, and while they don’t post much, they do occasionally share photos of the family.  I like that.  I’m also friended to Joan’s 2 kids, Jodi & Casey.  We were all still living in the same place when they were born, and I remember the little tots they used to be.  Now Jodi has 2 tots of her own!  (well, not so “tot” any more!)  There’s also a slew of cousins from Pennsylvania  (they’re either once removed, or 2nd…)

Most of my paternal cousins lived in the same city I grew up in.  When I moved to Arizona in the late 70s, I lost touch with most of them.  Some of the cousins also moved away and even when I came back to NY, there was no contact, except at the occasional wedding, funeral or Christmas greeting.  Several of them are on Facebook (and their spouses) and I’ve reconnected and enjoyed getting to know them as adults. (Janice, Patty, MaryEllen, Debi

Some of my cousins grew up in the far away state of Florida.  All six of them are my Facebook friends — some of them are very quiet friends, but two in particular I ‘converse’ with pretty much every day.  One (Beth) even reads this blog… (luv ya cuz!)

Then there are the 2nd cousins and once-removed kind of cousins… though I truthfully cannot remember the difference.  I am friended to a couple of my mother’s first cousins (Dorothy & Donna) and some of my mother’s first cousins offspring (Karen).   There’s my cousin Barbara’s daughter (Patty), my cousin Jack’s sons & daughter, and I love seeing the pix of their families growing up.

Back to the darling nieces.  They were the real reason I joined Facebook.  I wanted to know what was going on in their lives, since calling Aunt Carol is not high on their list of things to do.  So now I get to see pics of what they’re doing in their lives and pics of their younguns.  It almost makes me feel like I’m there.  Without the noise.

So, the Best Reason I can think of to Love Facebook is Family. 

And there ya have it… my 9 or 10 reasons to Love Facebook.  If you can connect with any of these reasons, maybe you should be spending more time on Facebook too.

Next week, I’ll be off to “Camp Nanowrimo“.  I’ll be posting another list for the month of July.  I hope you’ll like it.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

