A HORSE IS A HORSE

Of course, of course.  It dawned on me today that I don’t watch much first run TV.  That is, “new” shows.  Almost everything I watch is in the category “Classic Reruns”.  M*A*S*H, The Bob Newhart Show, The Waltons, The Cosby Show… these are the staples of my TV viewing routine.  Every once in a while I’ll watch Four Weddings or The Long Island Medium, just for fun.

I’m part of the TV generation. I grew up with Captain Kangaroo, The Mickey Mouse Club, and Romper Room.  I vaguely remember The Howdy Doody Show and Davy Crockett I watched Donna Reed, Ozzie and Harriet and My Three Sons.  And of course, Lassie.

(Watch the Donna Reed link.  It’s the exact same scene except updated every year.  The family changes their clothes and the kids get older.  Hilarious!)

What I remember as I got older was all the excitement leading to fall previewthe new season which always started in September.  All summer you’d get those miserable reruns while you anxiously waited for your favorite shows to return and for new shows to debut.  I remember waiting to see the FALL PREVIEW ISSUE of the TV Guide appear at the supermarket check out.  It would be filled with all kinds of information about old shows and new shows, additions and departures to favorites and pictures of all the stars.  And a night by night line up that I’d tear out so I wouldn’t miss anything new or overlook a favorite that might have moved.

Yes, it was a classic age of TV, My Mother the Car notwithstanding.  Kung Fu, Magnum P.I., and The Muppet Show were all big hits, different though they were.  Mr. Ed, and the Jetsons, the Flinstones and The Adventures of Superman were what we watched.  Father Knows Best and Home Improvement depicted the changing conception of family life, but truthfully, Tim (the Toolman) Taylor looked after his family and tried to instill manners and respect in his sons.

I also enjoy some of the classic Britcoms.  My very favorite is As Time Goes By starring Dame Judi Dench and Geoffrey Palmer.  Brilliant!  Hyacinth Bucket (pronounced boo-kay) and her husband, sisters, and assorted neighbors supply the giggles on Keeping Up Appearances.  Hyacinth must be experienced to be appreciated.  

From the mid-70s to the 80’s we enjoyed Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley and the Cosby Show.  We were scandalized by people singing about their thrill on Blueberry Hill, contemplating vo-de-o-do-ing, and a father who made sure his daughters were being treated like ladies by their exuberant teenaged boyfriends. I cannot imagine what he would say about having a Kardashian in his house.

The 2013 Fall Season will bring us more Honey Boo Boo and “Hillbilly” this or that.  I won’t even bother you with links.  They’re too disgusting for words.  Also, the dark side of fairy tales seems to be a popular theme.  Darkness.  There’s a lot of darkness.  The world plummets into darkness, aliens inhabit human bodies, sharks attacking passing boats, and so on.  I don’t need it.  Or sex.  There’s too much sex in my opinion.  I thought TVLand was a safe haven, but the Golden Girls now rule Cleveland and The Preacher’s Wife is Hot are ‘new’ series assaulting the airwaves in which the main characters have sex for fun and laughs.  The actual Golden Girls were sluts but the girls in Cleveland make them look like Golden Girl Scouts. 

I am not looking forward to the new TV season.  I plan to look back on Andy, Bob, Mary and Barney (Miller).  They continue to entertain me and don’t offend me by making noises with their butts or jumping into bed with every person of the opposite sex who drives into town.  They’re my kind of TV!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A HORSE IS A HORSE

  1. kmsoverton says:

    Loved it! You’re right… there are more channels now, but less worthy of watching!

Leave a Reply

