Three Cheers for the Red White and Blue

cropped-fireworks22.jpgHappy 4th of July

This will be a short, sweet post.  It’s getting late but I started this and wanted to post it.  (And by started I mean I titled it and stuck the clip art on it.)

This was one of the least celebratory 4th of July I can remember in a long time.  Even the fireworks on TV were a disappointment.  But, I got some rest, saw a few good movies and had some hot dogs… “easy” indoor cookout food.  That was all.  Just hot dogs.  2 of them.  Then Laurie invited me for a bowl of strawberry trifle and that was about it.  Now I’m going to watch “Aerial America” from bed and pretend I’m soaring over Hawaii or something.

Hope you had a good day with more festivity than I had — though that wouldn’t be hard to do!

I’m going to leave you with one of my favorite quotes about Independence Day.  It was written by John Adams, and oddly, was paraphrased by his character in the movie “1776” which I watched today.  The man knew what he was talking about!

The second day of July, 1776, will be the most memorable epocha in the history of America. I am apt to believe that it will be celebrated by succeeding generations as the great anniversary festival. It ought to be commemorated as the day of deliverance, by solemn acts of devotion to God Almighty. It ought to be solemnized with pomp and parade, with shows, games, sports, guns, bells, bonfires, and illuminations, from one end of this continent to the other, from this time forward forevermore.

Mañana!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

