Let a Smile be Your Umbrella…

The PLINKY prompt I’m using today is this:  Safe inside, toasty warm, while water pitter-patters on rainydaythe roof… describe your perfect, rainy afternoon.

I may have mentioned Plinky before.  It’s a site that provides a daily writing prompt.  It’s a good site for writers with “writers block”.  I like it because you can write as much or as little about the prompt as you want, or, in some cases, just totally ignore it.  Some of the prompts require too much thinking – either retrospectively or introspectively.  There are times it doesn’t help to think that deeply.  But the prompt for June 23rd was perfect for today, so here goes!

Perfect, meaning I don’t have laundry to do or a website to update.  Perfect, meaning I am totally absolved from any “must do’s”.  Ok, I’m ready.

On my perfect rainy afternoon, I get out of bed and find that there’s breakfast waiting for me.  Yes. Breakfast in the afternoon, because after all, I’ve slept in until noon.  Now you know this is a fantasy, because when you live alone, the only way you find breakfast waiting is if you left it on the counter the night before.  But since it’s my perfect rainy day, I’m enjoying buttery, syrupy French toast with sizzling, crispy bacon and hot steamy coffee.  Now my insides are warm and toasty too.

Next I find a great movie on TV, which I enjoy under a cozy blanket, perhaps with another cup of coffee and maybe some coffee cake (with plenty of crumbs – I’m seeing an Entemann’s coffee cake in this fantasy.  If you’ve never enjoyed an Entemann’s coffee cake you don’t know what you’re missing!) The movie is either a hilarious comedy or a box-of-tissues tear-jerker.  It could also be a Fred Astaire / Ginger Rogers dancing flick, which I’ll watch any time.  When the movie ends, I think about lunch.

For lunch, I find a sandwich prepared for me – today I’m wanting it to be chicken salad on a croissant, with some chips, cole slaw and pickles.  A large glass of white wine would round this out nicely.  (The key word here being LARGE, of course!)nap

Now it’s about 3:00 I turn on some Mozart or Vivaldi and I sit down under the blanket with a book.  Somewhere during the second or third chapter, I drift off and enjoy a little nap.  Maybe it’s the book.  Maybe it’s the music.  Maybe it’s the wine.

Around 4 I revive and, of course, find a plate of cheese and crackers and another robust glass of wine at my side.  (Remember, this IS the “perfect” rainy day!)  My favorite episodes of my favorite reruns are on TV and I enjoy them, while the rain pitters on the roof.

It’s possible that in my “perfect rainy day” scenario, I have a dog to cuddle.  But since I’m not in “dog” mode right now, I didn’t include him.  One of these days… when I can afford one again… I’ll get another fluffy pet.  But for now, I have to be content with my invisible chef in the background.

The chef, naturally, is slaving away over a hot stove, making me a scrumptious dinner.  I’m seeing my mother’s pot roast, mashed potatoes and gravy, carrots and green beans and fresh dinner rolls right out of the oven.  Actually, I see it all being my mother’s food, not the chef’s.  Maybe instead of a chef I see a messenger who just jumped off a private plane from New Jersey with my mother’s food packaged up.  My mother is such a good cook!  And if I’m going to fantasize, it might as well be about the best thing I can think of!

After dinner, I find something else good on TV, and I curl up on the sofa and laugh my head off.  Or I cry my eyes out.  You never know what today’s definition of “good” will be.

Oh wait!  Here comes my pastry chef with a heapin’ helpin’ of chocolate cake.  And a humongous scoop of ice cream.  Yum.  In my perfect scenario, nothing has calories.  Load up another plate please!

By now it’s time to toddle upstairs to bed and flip on some peaceful music to fall asleep to.  It’s been nice having a day off like this.  Next time it rains, maybe I’ll try shopping!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

