COOKBOOK-Y

DAY EIGHTEEN

I’m somewhat bleary-eyed.  I spent the last 3 days typing 109 recipes.  ½ cup of this, a Ctsp. of that, 4 eggs, 1 egg white, flour, sugar, brown sugar, powdered sugar, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins, orange zest, lemon juice, shrimp, scallops, chocolate chips, walnuts, pecans, allspice, cloves, ricotta cheese, grated cheese, ground beef… you name it I’ve typed it.  I’m swimming in ingredients.  None of them included wine or vodka.  Sad, really.   I’m looking for another 193 recipes.  Maybe one of them will have vodka.  Or wine.  One can only hope.

Anyway, it’s the “constructive” thing I’ve done the last 3 days – mostly because I’ve been so obsessed with typing them in I haven’t wanted to do anything else… like cooking, eating or cleaning.  I considered sitting on the deck today, but it was 92 and thick out there and I decided against it.  There’s only so much humidity I can take, and I DID walk to the car from the church today.  Isn’t that enough suffering for one day?

I did not apply for any jobs today, mostly because I spent time at work typing recipes.  Before you get to thinking I was “goofing off” by doing so, remember:  The cookbook is for the church and I was working at church.  I really didn’t have anything else to do anyway.  Now that I’m all caught up, I can look twice as hard tomorrow!  (and I should finish listening to the 2nd in the Cat Who series on CD tomorrow so it should be another ‘constructive’ day!)

I’m being tortured by a little “plink plink” sound on the computer.  It’s a Facebook thing.  Whenever someone responds to a post that I’ve responded to, I get a notification, “plink plink”.  The last few days I’ve noticed a surge in “plinks” from two pages… One is NaNoWriMo.  (NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth) It’s a writers group that encourages people to write a 50,000 word novel every November.  I keep signing up and failing to complete the 50,000 words.  My closest has been 27 pages, which is 11,178 words.  I missed a little.  The members are asking questions like, “What are some unisex names?” and “I’ve lost my inspiration to write, whatever can I do?”  (the actual answer is plinky.com.  Funny because of the “plink plink” sounds!) The other page is the “I Grew Up in Yonkers” page.  People on this page have been sharing reminiscences about Yonkers, NY, mainly in “the olden days”.  “Who shopped for school clothes at Ludells?”  “Who ate pizza at Marios on South Broadway?” “Who worked at Woolworths?”  Then they post photos of these old time landmarks, and “plink plink” 45 people respond in minutes.  It’s worse than the Chinese water torture… well, maybe not.  But it’s annoying.  I could turn the sound off, but that would ruin Candy Crush Saga!  Sometimes, life is tough.

I’m trying to eat less and I’m dying for something sweet.  A toasted sandwich thin with peanut butter was unsatisfying.  I want a Sonic milkshake.  Or a Steak & Shake shake.  Mmmm. It’s not too late, I could still go to Sonic.  Ah… I’ve taken my shoes off already, I guess not.  Maybe tomorrow.  On Friday, I’m off to a Birthday Party.  The guest of honor passed away in December.  Go figure.  Her husband is having a party to celebrate her life on what would have been her birthday.  A chance to party?? Damn right I’m going. 

On Saturday, parts of the cookbook committee will meet here at 10:30 a.m.  (Why?  BECAUSE I CAN!)  I may have typed the recipes, but they’ll have to proof them!  Mwahahahaha!  I see coffee and maybe something breakfasty in our future.  Cinnamon is good.  There was a lot of it in the cookbook…..

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

