BANG!

DAY SEVENTEEN

Today began with a BANG!  Literally!  There I was, minding my own business, sitting on the sofa eating my cornflakes and watching the Today show when BANG.  Everything turned off.  The TV, the air conditioner, the gurgling coffee pot, the lights, the clocks – everything!  Apparently a transformer popped (and not the kind that turns into a robot and eats Milwaukee) and there I was surrounded by all this QUIET.  Fortunately, I had already heated up a cup of coffee left from yesterday, so I didn’t have to leave the house coffee-less.  I know you’re all relieved to hear that. [When I got home at 2:40 everything was back to normal!]

I applied for another job today.  Now I think I have 5 or 6 active applications out there.  It would be nice to find out when they get filled, but I’ve learned that mostly, they just never let you know.   This one was for an Event Coordinator.  It might actually be a little over my head, but don’t tell them I said so.

I’ve now typed 50 recipes for the parish cookbook.  At Publix today I was walking around thinking of ingredients.  If you’ve got a good recipe, email it to me.  (Sue, I’ve used the Split Seconds – again!)  I also bought more boneless ribs (Laurrrrie!) and a nice piece of salmon.  I see more cooking in my near future.  I love cooking.  I love eating.  I’m glad to be getting an opportunity to do more of both during these 30 days of freedom.

nestOn TV and in cartoons you always see bird nests in trees – cute, well-built nests up in a pretty branch.  Why do I keep getting them on the front porch?  Between the birds and the cats it’s a mess out there! (look behind the lamp)

I FINALLY got to talk to my niece for her birthday, which was May 30 (Hi Bryna!).  Between her busy schedule and my forgetfulness, we just haven’t had an opportunity till now.   Her 2 and a half year-old was in the tub, so we had a quick conversation.  Bathroom acoustics do not lend themselves well to speakerphones.   I sent her a birthday card with a QR code I’d recorded and I wanted to be sure she would save it – I can re-record it at will.  It makes me feel ‘technical’.  (ha ha)

Well, there you have it.  Tuesday in a nutshell.  Or a birdnest.  Or a transformer.  You pick.  I’m going to type another recipe.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BANG!

  1. kmsoverton says:

    Love the new top border for your blog, and the lamp so that I can see the nest. tres cool. The birds know a good home when they see one.

Leave a Reply

