SATURDAY!

DAY FOURTEEN

YAY!  I ‘slept’ until 9:57 this morning!!  Truthfully, I was “iWakened” by my alarm at both alarmclock6:45 and 7:15, but I was able to ignore Mr. iClock and squeeze my eyes shut in an “I’m sleeping” fashion and reawakened at 9:57.  I can’t tell you the last time I was in bed this late.  Maybe it was 3 years ago when I was sick for Christmas….

Ok, so this is “jammy day” though I’m not actually in my jammies any more.  I decided that “more would get done” if I didn’t feel like I was supposed to be lounging.  So I’m in jeans, a huge comfortable tshirt and my sneakers – all the better to clean the kitchen.  Yes, I live a life others only dream of.  I clean the kitchen on my first Saturday of real freedom (last Saturday I had that church festival at 8:30, remember?) I tried listening to a movie on OnDemand, but I wanted to watch.  So I turned the Oldies on the Digital Music channel and am grooving on a Saturday afternoon. 

I’m not your typical housecleaner.  I like to do a little something, then take a break.  Then I do a little more and another break.  The break can mean running to the computer or sitting in front of the TV.  I’m sure this has something to do with why things don’t get done, but I believe further research is warranted before I can make a firm determination about it.  This afternoon, I’m washing the kitchen floor.  This involves sweeping, moving chairs & the table, using one cleaning solution, waiting for it to dry (this is ‘built-in’ break time), deciding it didn’t do a good enough job and using a 2nd cleaning solution, waiting for IT to dry, and moving to the next area of the floor and starting the process again.  I should also empty all the science experiments from the fridge.  (the operative word being should.  This, in my vocabulary, often equates to won’t.)

Well, I actually finished in the kitchen, removed old newspapers from the living room, made dinner, and went to church.  I guess that’s enough for today.

I hope there’s something good on TV tomorrow.  All this work on the weekends is for the birds!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SATURDAY!

  1. kmsoverton says:

    I am a firm believer in breaks during all work like activities. In fact, work might be the break between breaks. Well done, Carol!

Leave a Reply

