BECAUSE I CAN

DAY SIX

I’m writing this a little earlier than usual because I’m going back out on the deck with some redandwhite3Pinot Grigio and some cheese & crackers.  Why?  Because I can!  That’s been a re-occurring theme this week, and I like it!  I may make it my personal motto.

This morning I had 2 cups of coffee on the deck.  It was pleasant with the birds chirping and the rest of the neighborhood quiet, until the cats in the woods started wailing like banshees.  Fortunately, they stopped before I was done and the pleasantness resumed.

This evening I am back out on the deck – because for a change I don’t have to work on Friday night. As they say, “whoo hoo!”  (I don’t say that personally, but I’ve heard other people say it.)  Today was my “short” day… I only work 4 hours on Friday, and part of that is spent having lunch with another lady in the office.  Normally, I’d sprint home, change shirts, grab the “dinner” I’d made at 8:30 (a peanut butter & jelly sandwich) and head off for 5 more hours of walking in circles.  Tonight, I’m going to sit on the deck and have a few glasses of wine.  The walk from the deck to the living room is short and I won’t hit any lights along the way, so I don’t think I’ll be stopped by the cops.  🙂 I “may” overindulge.

I really can’t drink too much tonight because I have to get up early to attend a church festival down by the airport – and I should be there around 8:00.

Oh, and I bought some frozen strawberries – I’ll be having that smoothie tomorrow!

My first week of “freedom” is almost over.  I haven’t really done too much that can be called “constructive”.  I’ve done some “slacking off” and as far as I’m concerned, that’s ok.  Downtime is really what I needed.  Next week I do have some serious things to attend to, so I guess it’s ok that I didn’t get much accomplished this week.

As a famous southern girl once said, “I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

And now, my wine is calling. And you don’t want a bottle of Pinot to start whining.  Hahaha.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

