PEANUT BUTTER & JELLY WITHDRAWAL

Day Three

It’s been ovePBJr a week since I gobbled down peanut butter & jelly at breakneck speed.  This is a “dinner” I eat often during my evenings at work because it’s easy to do in 15 minutes – which is the time I get for a ‘break’.  I think I’m going into withdrawal.  I may need to break down and have some soon.  But not tonight.

Back at the day job, I resumed the paper-sorting I started last week.  I had hoped that the task would prepare me to continue to do the same when I got home, but I’m not that motivated.  I was able to go through one pile of papers, separating into such categories as: tossing, recycling, shredding, filing and “saving”.  This latter category encompasses such things as recipes, which I love to print (and never have time to make).  I guess one pile is better than none. 

Actually, I’m looking for 2 things.  One is a birthday card I made a month early.  Now that I need to mail it, I can’t find it.  The other is a file folder with recipes.  Now I know exactly what the folder looks like.  I also know where it “was”.  It “was” on the corner of a box a few months back.  It was within easy reach the minute I needed to use it.  Then my mother decided to visit and I moved it.  Somewhere.  I’m sure it’s in a pile.  I just don’t know which one. 

They say the memory is the first thing that goes.  Actually I heard on TV this morning that menopause “can” cause memory loss.  At least now I have a scapegoat.  It’s not me, it’s menopause.  I like it.  (not the menopause, the excuse.)

I ate fairly well today.  It’s hard to change your eating habits over night, I realize that.  But today I ate a piece of fruit and two vegetables (and chips and dip and ½ a brownie).  It’s a step in the right direction.  By the time I’m eating right, it will be day 30.  Maybe I’ll have to re-enlist.

🙂

UPDATE:  I finally remembered where I put the birthday card “for safe keeping”.  The person who gets it will be getting it late, but better late than never, right?

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

