TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY

Not of the rest of my life… well, yes, of the rest of my life.  But not for this post.  For this post, today is the first day of my 30 nights of freedom.  Freedom from working nights.  Freedom from sore feet.  Freedom from achy legs the next day.  Freedom from total exhaustion.

I have a great number of things I hope to accomplish during these 30 days.  Improving my health, taking care of some financial improvements, cleaning a house filled to the gills with stuff. True, 30 days is not long enough to do all of those things impeccably, but I’m going to give them my best shot.

redandwhite3Oh, and while I’m at it, I’m supposed to ‘rest’. So at the end of the 30 days I can resume my routine of working nights at a rate of pay only high schoolers can live on.  I plan to do this by not walking for 5 hours a night.  (ha ha ha… those of you who I’ve worked with or described my nights at the store will understand this!)  And while I hope to do some “weight watching” I also plan to empty a few wine bottles during this month of liberty.

Since it’s Sunday, and the middle of a 3-day holiday weekend, I plan to celebrate.  I have food to grill and drinks to drink.  The weather is cooperating and I might even sit out on the deck and get some of this ‘fresh air’ I’m always hearing about. I have books to read and listen to (I love audiobooks, don’t you?) and lots of crafty projects in various stages of completion. I might pull one of them out and be creative for a change (instead of cranky – what a concept!)

So, three cheers for the red, white and blue!  And tough luck to whoever got the harrowing schedule I left behind!  Hahahahaha.

UPDATEIt’s 3:30 and I’ve made cole slaw and devilled eggs for my personal BBQ and am watching a really crappy baseball game on TV. (crappy because my team is losing).  I washed the patio table and opened the umbrella.  I have the grill “on hand” and once the ballgame is over (though it is probably really over already for me…) I’ll head outside for some of that “fresh air” stuff — with a cold refreshing adult beverage, of course!  I don’t have to go to work today!

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY

  1. kmsoverton says:

    Enjoyed reading your first entry. Sounds like a great first day!!

Leave a Reply

