Five Golden Riiiiings

If I had 5 golden rings, I’d be out selling them off.  It’s tough being underemployed.

I’d like to not be trapped in my house.  If I go out, I spend money.  Money I don’t really have to spend.  So I stay home where it’s safe.  But I’m getting cabin fever.  I’ll have to take back one of my Christmas presents so I can pretend to be out with real people (as opposed to their television counterparts who have been keeping me company this week.)

I am still looking for work, but either I’m so ordinary I don’t stand out from the crowd, or I’m way underqualified and more qualified people are being interviewed or I’m way overqualified and those less qualified are being hired.  I have some nice skills, I’m unencumbered by children or pets or a travelling spouse, and I’m going to be there every day and put in a good day’s work.  And yet, I’m familiar with every infomercial on the air and Andy Griffith and I are getting mighty chummy.

And I miss going to the store for more than milk.

But, as a new year approaches, I’ll keep my chin up and my head high and confidently pound the keyboard looking for that one company that is looking for an ordinary person (with a great sense of humor) to be their new employee!

In the meantime, I’m going to look for some golden rings…

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

