25 Days … Day 15

There’s just too much.  Too much baking.  Too much decorating.  Too much cleaning.  Too much Christmas movies.  Something had to give tonight.  It was baking.  And cleaning.  And decorating.  And… well, I couldn’t go completely cold turkey, so I did “watch” some movies.  White Christmas and Miracle on 34th Street… two of my all time favorites.  Followed by 2 sappy, predictable Hallmark Channel movies.

Instead I sat at the computer.  I fixed the problem with the parish website,  and I played my new and daily games.  I fretted a little too.  I have a medical issue that’ll come to a head in one way or another tomorrow, I’m just a little afraid of how it will come about. So today, I practiced avoidance.  We’ll see how well it works out.

Tomorrow is Friday and the Bake Sale is the next day.  I need to put the sandwich cookies together and I was thinking of making some fudge – although that I can make that on Saturday. There’s still some gingerbread dough in the fridge and I can whip up some more dough quickly if I get the urge to make something “else”. I think I’m ready.  I wonder if I’ll get the urge… 😉

With the Bake Sale over, I can concentrate on decorating, inside and out.  Right now, they’re predicting a ‘nice’ day on Monday (20% chance of rain) I hope to get my garland up and buy a tree.  If I’m lucky, I can even get the tree ‘up’. 

Santa will be at church for a pancake breakfast on Saturday.  I love pancakes.  I’m fond of Santa.  I should go.  I’ll probably be home baking.  We’ll see.

What I really need is a day away from Christmas movies.  It’s so much easier to get stuff done when you’re not tempted to sit down and enjoy a scene here or there.   If I could force myself to just put the music on, I might be more successful. 

Knowing and doing are two different things.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

