The Attack of the Candy Bars

Is it any coincidence that NaNoWriMo starts hours after the conclusion of Halloween?  No one wants to run out of Halloween candy, so, over-buying is entirely possible.  Add to that the increasing popularity of Trunk or Treat events which diminish the number of children roaming the neighborhoods, and it’s easy to see why it’s common to overestimate the amount of candy to buy.

Stop Here...

Meaning, of course, a surplus of Snickers has overtaken my house, fueling my initial foray into the world of NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month, a contest where the goal is to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1 and November 30.

If I’d been a fortune-telling gypsy for Halloween, I would foresee a month of Snickers, peanut butter and jelly, coffee and L-O-N-G nights.  I see getting into bed and getting out to write down one more idea.  And then another.

Besides Thanksgiving, I see 8 other events on my November calendar already.  And November hasn’t even started yet.

I see a wireless keyboard in the corner asking for new batteries.

I see shopping for leftover Halloween candy in my future.

…and they’re off!  Stay tuned for breaking news as it happens.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

