Obsession

Is it Obsession or Distraction?

I’m easily obsessed with new interests.  Sewing, decorating, baking, website design, writing, scrapbooking, crocheting, card-making, cleaning, it doesn’t matter.  Once I get to really like something I do it until I find something else to be obsessed about.  It makes for a busy day full of not getting much accomplished.

The Jersey Devil

Right now I’m making Halloween cards.  Over the summer, I took some pictures at a New Jersey tourist trap called Smithville. I love Smithville and I insist on visiting it every year when I go to see Mom during the summer.  This year I got some good pictures of devils, pumpkins, ghosts and candy corn, which are ending up being adhered to cardstock and sent to loved ones through our postal system (good luck with that!) to wish them greetings of the upcoming spooky season.  My mind is already whizzing ahead to Christmas card-making.

I’m also “scrapbooking” little pictures of my new great-niece to send to her mother and Aunt Kelly.  I like the playing with the pictures, the paper, positioning and fonts to create something that looks attractive.  It brings me back to my yearbook editing days (yes, cameras had been invented then!) and I’m hoping that the layout practice will help with my website designing (something else I’m in the process of learning how to do – in my spare time of course)!

Brookwood Blanket for Silent Auction

Last month, I was busy making a blanket to donate to the church Silent Auction in the school colors of the local high school.  I crocheted between making rosaries when I had to rest my knotting fingers!  Once it was done, I started another one which I’m planning to keep for myself, but… we’ll see if I really do.

I’m working on a project for church to supply 400 hand-made twine knotted rosaries for the parish – due on December 8th.  I’m doing this with one other person.  We’re about half-way there.  I should be knotting, not typing.  I’ll knot during the ballgame tonight – that should catch me up on my ‘quota’. Once everyone has one (rosary, not quota!), I’ll recruit folks to make more for the Rosary Army (http://www.rosaryarmy.com)  Of course, as you’re making them, there’s always someone who needs one or who wants one and the faster we knot, the behinder we get!

Oh, while I’m doing this, I’m looking for work.  I’m doing laundry.  I’m organizing my clutter.  I’m decorating for Fall.  I’m eating and baking (or is that baking and eating?).  I’m playing Bejeweled Blitz.  I’m considering entering NaNoWriMo 2010 and my mind is buzzing with “if I did, what would I write?”   I took some time today to write.  I haven’t written in months.  Mostly because I’ve been looking for work, organizing, eating, baking, playing, making cards, scrapbooking… There aren’t enough hours in the day to do all the things I want to do.  Maybe I’m placing too much emphasis on sleep.  Then again, I’m awake until (at least) 2 a.m. most mornings so maybe I’m not.

I never do something completely through from start to end because I need to stop to work on another project which beckons to me, Don’t you miss working on me? So I wonder… Am I obsessed with my hobbies or looking for distractions?  Because I’m considering entering NaNoWriMo (a novel-writing competition) on November 1, I thought I should warm up by trying to do some blogging.  Why aren’t I downstairs finishing cleaning the messy kitchen?  Oh, I can’t write and clean at the same time.  Hmm.  Convenient.

In the meantime, it’s lunchtime.  And I have someone coming over to give me a shot tonight and don’t you think brownies or a cinnamon cake would be a nice way to say thank you?  Now that I’ve gotten this writing out of my system, I’ll bake a thing or two, while I do another load of laundry, consider NaNoWriMo and applying for a job.

This entry was posted in Random Acts of Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Obsession

  1. Ed Moran says:

    What do you do when you’re bored? 🙂

  2. Maria says:

    ‘world peace…” hilarious!

    join me on NaNoWriMo! find me as “bego.”

Leave a Reply

